It is finally time for the third installment of my vloggythingy. It has been awhile but I am back! Talking about value creation and unpaid internships, tying into the blog post about schibsted’s unpaid internships. Fun stuff! Check out the video below!
Value creation / generation is the fundamental pillar of business. This is also why unpaid internships are so awful, if a company cannot create value from your employment then they should not employ that position in the first place. I am of the opinion that unpaid internships is a scourge that should be purged from the corporate environment.
More importantly on value creation: Basically, anything you do to increase revenue and profits for the company. It may be direct or indirect but it should (and mostly does) affect your wage. If you have a proven track record with increased conversion rates for example, then use that to leverage your future wage or rate.
A consultant rate might be very high per hour (compared to a normal worker) but it is high for a reason: extra costs (overhead, taxes, social costs etc) and expertise. For the most part you pay a freelancer or a consultant a high rate because they are the experts and it is not financially viable for you to hire a full-time employee with that skill level for such a task.
Does your clients think your hourly rate is high? Charge per day or week. The client no longer pays for the means (hours) to the end but rather the end and the means are of little significance
ASUS’s social media effort played a large role when hosts (The GD Studio) often directed the viewers to the sponsors and therefore enabled larger ROI. ASUS ROG engaged the viewers by posted updates on Facebook, encouraging them to view the tournament and also running a large sweepstake concurrently with the tournament.
The eSports crowd are unfortunately not very fond of advertisement, or what they perceive as advertisement. This is a worrying trend in my opinion as the teams NEED sponsorships to survive and if the sponsors don’t perceive that they get ROI then they will stop sponsoring esports. The problem right now is that the sponsors don’t really get any screen time, so viewers don’t really get exposed to the sponsors, thus nullify a lot of the potential ROI that the sponsors could achieve if it was clearer who sponsors which team. That is a problem right now and will continue to be a problem for some time I suspect.
I hope you have enjoyed this video and I look forward to discussing similar topics in the future.
Did you find this post interesting, controversial or dumb? Leave a comment below or send the author a tweet (@Chronoo).
The video includes the following topics:
CPM – Cost per Mille
Only legitimate views count – An ad must have been shown. Yogscast – 4m+ subscribers, close to 1.9b views on the main channel
How much does Yogscast earn?
We don’t know! However, here is a guesstimate based on views.
1.8b views on the main channel.
Estimated CPM: $2 – On the low end
1.800.000.000 / 1000 * 2 = $3.600.000
Revenue from t-shirts? At least £5 per shirt
Can I make it on Youtube?
Probably not, but neither can I!
To make a close to decent living you need at least 1.000.000 views per month
For the love of god, have a backup plan! Don’t quit your job just yet!
Feel free to follow me on Twitter:@Chronooor subscribe to my Youtube channel:TVChrono